top of page
  • Writer's pictureruizlabdesign

Portfolio 2024 massive update: gaming aesthetics! 🎮✨




As a Product Designer, I was really bothered by the fact that my own portfolio was soooo boring lol. I’ve been working on incredibly great projects since 2022 and I was surprised how fast my own website got in such desperate need of an update 😂



So I’ve been working on this project these last months and I’m so happy to finally share the new arts!!! I wanted my portfolio to have many more illustrations, which I love very much making. They can take a long time to get done (I sketch by hand, then digitalize, then illustrate), so it was a big challenge.


As a player, I accepted to be victorious and conquer this new game level, so here're the results!!!






My goal was to give my portfolio an entirely new personality; inspired in games, isometric art, pixel art, arcade style and dreamy aesthetics combined, and the medium was vector art - my favorite medium to illustrate so far! Brand colors are the same, but in a new, much more fun to look at & interact way.



New icons, buttons and UI elements



I also have some new digital illustrations from this & last year around the blog, if you wanna check the articles (click here to read more articles). And I'll be updating on Dribbble too!




Classic isometric world


I love 2D pixel gaming aesthetics! Designing this classic isometric illustration to be inspired on this game genre was something I wanted to make for a long time. It reminds me of college; I've done so many 2D games that were arcade-inspired and had a great deal of fun illustrating back then. I'm really happy that I could not only illustrate, but also make the icons hoverable so it gives a game-like experience for desktop users. It's also clickable on mobile, just like classic game UIs.





Dreamy Isometric world


I had a hard time deciding how to design representations of Product Design processes. Illustrated icons were getting too weird so I decided to just describe them in a way that resembled 2D/pixel art/arcade games. An isometric path with motion was the chosen design, as I wanted it to remind those classic game-maps screens! I also needed an illustration to match the page's front-end aesthetics (double columns) and the portfolio's new aesthetics, so I used another isometric art to wrap it up. Here're the results:






New chibi mascot


This chibi is not really new, I actually designed it to my influencer portfolio as a mascot lol But in this portfolio, the mascot is wearing mostly pastel colors to match the new aesthetics. Colors were chosen to match our current logo!




404 chibi mascot 🚧


I also needed a chibi for the "Under Construction" pages around the website, so it was a lot of fun to illustrate the mascot as a construction worker/painter. Such a responsible little chibi!



Well done & badges


My portfolio is all about positivity, so a well done badge is adorable to illustrate the awards spot in my about page. Do you like it?





There're also level badges to describe my software levels in a fun, game-like way! Which of your skills are in Epic levels?




Mobile version


And there is also the mobile version!!! You can browse and have a similar experience on your phone with illustrations, new effects and new designs (tip: desktop is way more fun tho because of the game-like controls, check it out! But you can also have a nice experience on your phone).





Link to my portfolio:



Do you like the new portfolio's look? What's your favorite illustration? Please tell me in the comments!


Follow RuizLab Design on social media and don’t miss out!

Thank you!(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧



[Advertising] BTW, did you like the art in this post? Check out the stores below with some of the Ruizlab’s art! There are items for your home, your office and some beautiful clothes (international websites, check the corresponding taxes for your country)! Use #ruizlabwear on social media and tag me (@ruizlab) so I can see, I'll be so happy!🤩




Botão para a loja internacional TeePublic. Há um enfeite de estrela.
Botão para a loja internacional Threadless. Há um enfeite de estrela.

コメント


bottom of page